This website requires Javascript - please turn on Javascript to continue.

Tourism recipients in Queen’s Birthday 2016 honours list


14 June 2016

Several people received awards related to travel, tourism and aviation in the Queen’s Birthday 2016 Honours list on Monday 13 June.

The tourism recipients in Queen’s Birthday 2016 honours list were:

Member of the Order of Australia (AO) in the General Division:

Mr Peter John Hurley for distinguished service to the tourism and hospitality industries through a range of executive and leadership roles, to education and training, and to the promotion of public health initiatives.

Hurley is a past president of the Australian Hotels Association and was a Board Member of Tourism Australia, 2000-2004. He’s been Managing Director of Hurley Hotel Group since 1975 and was named ‘Champion of Entrepreneurship’, Ernst and Young Entrepreneurship of the Year Awards South Australia, 2015.

Companion (AC) in the General Division of the Order of Australia:

George Alfred Lloyd AO OBE, NSW, for eminent service to the aviation industry, particularly to the advancement of air safety in Australia, through leading roles with national and international aeronautical organisations, and airsport associations.

Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in the General Division

  • Mr Noel (Max) Patrick Christmas for significant service to the real estate and property development sectors, and to tourism, local government, youth and sporting groups. Christmas was a founding committee member, Gold Coast Tourism Bureau, 1976-2006.
  • Mr Leon Fink for significant service to the tourism and hospitality industry, as a supporter of the arts, education, and medical research, and to the community. Chairman and Director of The Fink Group, Fink is co-founder of the Tourism Taskforce in the 1980s and Life Governor. He was also co-creator and former director of Kinsela’s Brasserie, Bar and Theatre.
  • Brother John Lawrence May for significant service to winemaking, through contributions to professional associations, to regional tourism, and to the Catholic Church in Australia. The most revered member of Clare Valley’s winemaking community, May received the Harry Dowling Award, South Australian Tourism Industry Council, 2005, “for outstanding contribution by an Individual in Regional Tourism”. He has been a Life Member, Winemakers’ Federation of Australia, since 2004.
  • Robert James Hall, for significant service to sport aviation, particularly to gliding, through leadership, advocacy and training roles, and to the promotion of safety standards.
  • The Honourable George Souris for significant service to the people and Parliament of New South Wales, and to the community of the Upper Hunter. Souris was Minister for Tourism, Major Events, Hospitality and Racing between 2011 and 2014.

In addition Mark Stone, a Director of Tourism Australia, was honoured as a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in the General Division. Mr Stone was honoured for significant service to commerce and industry through leadership roles, to the environment and tourism sectors, and to the community. Stone was Chief Executive of Tourism Victoria, 2010-2011, as well as Deputy Secretary, Tourism Aviation and Communications, Department of Business and Innovation, 2010-2011.

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) in the General Division

  • Mr Craig Bradford Howson for service to the tourism industry in Western Australia.
  • Professor Leo Kenneth Jago for service to the tourism industry, and to education. Jago was inaugural Chief Economist and General Manager, Tourism Research Australia, 2012-2014 and a member, Sustainable Tourism Partnership Group, Tourism Victoria, 2006-2012. He was also on the Industry Advisory Panel Research, Tourism Australia, 2005-2007 and has held several roles in sustainable tourism and hospitality research, cycle tourism and events and festival tourism.
  • Adrianne Claire Fleming for service to the aviation industry.
  • Alan George Killmier for service to aviation, particularly to gliding, and to the community.
  • Phyllis Irene Boyd for service to heritage preservation. Boyd was President, Gisborne and Mount Macedon Districts Historical Society, 1998-2015 and Secretary, 1987-1998 and Member since 1987.
  • Helen Carlyle Coulson for service to the community of Echuca-Moama. Coulson received the Living Legend award for significant contributions to the tourism and hospitality industry in the Echuca-Moama region, Echuca Moama and District Tourism, 2015.
  • Lieutenant Colonel Peter Edward McGuinness MBE RFD ED (Retd) for service to military history preservation. An author and editor of military histories, McGuinness was Tour Guide, Military History Tourism, 2008 (France and Belgium) and 2015 (Gallipoli for Centenary).
  • Edna May Stride for service to the community of the Nambucca Valley. Stride chaired the Nambucca Valley Tourist Association, 1985-2004.

Public Service Medal (Federal)

  • Robert Clive Peake for outstanding public service to aviation safety.
  • Gary Charles Lavelle for outstanding public service to local government in New South Wales. Lavelle has been the driving force behind many initiatives which have ensured that visitation to the town of Temora continued during serious drought years.

The Australian honours system consists of a number of orders, decorations, and medals through which the country's sovereign awards its citizens for actions or deeds that benefit the nation. Established in 1975 with the creation of the Order of Australia, the system's scope has grown since then and over time has replaced the Imperial/British honours system that previously applied to Australians. The system includes an array of awards, both civil and military, for gallantry, bravery, distinguished service, meritorious service, and long service.